Are We Really Gonna Do This?

The thought of publishing a blog has been in the back of my mind for a few months now.  For years I bugged my former-blogger husband about starting his back up.  Man, he can really write AND he actually has something to say!  (Two things I get very jealous about; my friend Shelley has these same attributes) I, on the other hand, am not eloquent and I don’t have much to say.  Wow; ringing endorsement for this awesome blog.

So I still don’t think I have much to say, but throughout the last few months I have realized how much other people have to say.  Other people come up with great recipes, other people have great decorating tips, other people design amazing craft patterns and other people create awesome products.  I spend a good chunk of each week gathering what other people do or make and compiling them for my own purposes.  This is where my voice comes from.  I am able to pass along my hours of research to other aspiring homemakers and point all of you to the people who inspire me.

I’m pretty much assuming that if you’re reading this, you know who I am.  But I suppose there is the chance that through the amazingness of a search engine, you just might have stumbled upon this page.  Bless your heart for reading this far into the post.  Seriously.

If you’re the latter, you might want to know whose blog you’re reading.  My name is Amy and I grew up in the Twin Cities of Minnesota.  My husband (Dave) and I got married after graduating from the University of Minnesota, me with my math major and he with his degree in history.  After finishing a graduate program, I taught math for a year in a suburb and the next year we moved to Princeton, New Jersey.  While in New Jersey, Dave attended Princeton Seminary and I once again taught math (someone’s gotta be a sugar mama from time-to-time.)

After graduating from Seminary, it was time to pack up yet again.  This time we trekked all the way across the country to California, where Dave was fortunate enough to receive a call as Associate Pastor for Youth Ministry.  I found a teaching job at a local, private high school but was blessed with a baby boy at the end of that first school year (in June 2011).  My dream was always to stay at home with my kids for at least a little while and luckily Dave agreed that this was a good idea.  God has a sense of humor and I am once again pregnant with a boy and due April 2013.  These two were a little closer than I imagined, but I have learned that God’s timing is always far better than my own.

Youth ministry has truly become a family affair, as I can be found volunteering at our youth group meetings, leading worship, going to camps, chaperoning events and working on the myriad projects we always seem to have.  (In fact, we are currently redoing our lower youth room and I can’t wait to share when it’s done!)  Photography is another hobby of mine (that I sometimes get paid for) and I will include many pictures on this site for your enjoyment.  You can also follow me on Instragram (@amersly).

When I’m not at church, I am at home trying to cook, keeping a tidy [rental] house, crafting and hanging out with my boys.  (I would also add drinking coffee to my list of hobbies, but while pregnant I always seem to find myself quite adverse 😦

As a homemaker I am always on the lookout for fresh inspiration for cooking and keeping house.  This is my compilation of said inspiration.  I hope you will find as much pleasure in my finds as I have!

xo,

Amy

6 thoughts on “Are We Really Gonna Do This?

  1. Nice blog Amy! Layout is beautiful and the content (naturally) is lovely. Hope you’re all doing well and excited for the arrival! Can’t wait to meet your little ones

  2. First of all, you are a great writer, and, second of all, you are hilarious! (Two necessary attributes for a successful blog, in my opinion!) I’m pumped about following you here. It’s no substitute for enjoying you in person, but it does make the 3,000 mile gap between us seem a little smaller!

    • Thanks, Shell! Your support means so much to me because I have always loved reading your blogs. I was excited to hear that you want to get back into it!

Leave a Reply

