(Nutella) Suprise! Cookies

Wednesdays are always a busy day for us; we end up spending a lot of time with the junior highers that day.  Every other week we go out to lunch with them and every week we have an evening youth group.  Not only this, but we have a meeting with our intern, Caroline, on Wednesdays.  I love these meetings.  We read through books and this is our time to talk about them, talk about ministry, anything that’s going on and just have a good time.

I like to make treats for these meetings because that’s what homemakers do, they make treats for meetings.  (At least that’s what the Homemakers’ Society told me.)  So I have expanded my repertoire by quite a bit to keep our treats interesting.

I am a chocolate chip cookie connoisseur.  I love to eat them and am always on the lookout for the best recipe.  I was looking through recipes and I saw the word “Nutella”.  Which is probably one of my favorite words.  Suddenly it hit me: chocolate chip cookies + Nutella = amazing (and I majored in math, so trust me, this equation is true.)  Thank goodness for Google, because with one quick click I found a recipe that sounded perfect.

Now, I hate to disappoint, but it turns out that all you have to do to make these cookies is take your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe and put Nutella in the middle.  That’s it.  For real.  This post ends up being a two-in-one.  I will give you my current favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe AND I will show you how to quickly turn them into Surprise!  Cookies.  (I am calling them Surprise! cookies because if you don’t say anything, people will bite into them and  surprisingly  be transported to a magical Nutella world.)

The chocolate chip cookie recipe I got from my Dad, who ironically hates chocolate.  But this recipe never disappoints.

The Nutella portion was inspired by the recipe I read at: http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/giant-nutella-stuffed-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Here we go:

I’m giving you the recipe for a full batch of cookies, but I made a half batch.  If I make a full batch, I eat the whole thing….

Mix 3/4 cup white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup softened butter in a mixer.  

I like to add all the ingredients, mix slowly, stop and scrape the bowl and mix at a higher speed for at least 30 seconds.  (I stop and scrape the bowl A LOT to make sure none of the ingredients get forgotten)

I'm tempted to eat the dough already.  (But being pregnant, I'm extra cautious and I abstain.)

I’m tempted to eat the dough already. (But being pregnant, I’m extra cautious and I abstain.)

Next mix in 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract and 2 large, lightly beaten eggs.

I beat the eggs and vanilla together in a separate bowl and add that mixture to the big bowl.

DSC_2837

Now the batter is EVEN MORE tempting to eat...

Now the batter is EVEN MORE tempting to eat…

In a separate bowl, mix together 3 cups flour, 3/4 teaspoon salt and 3/4 teaspoon baking soda.

The only part of the recipe that's not tempting to eat.

The only part of the recipe that’s not tempting to eat.

Slowly add the flour mixture to the rest of the batter.

Once again, I mix in all the flour and stop to scrape the bowl.  I then turn the mixer to a slightly higher speed and let the whole thing mix for about 2 minutes.

Add 3 cups chocolate chips.

And this is why they’re so good.  You’re probably asking, “3 cups?  Am I reading this right?”  Yup.  You wanted yummy cookies, correct?  We buy a massive bag of chips from Costco.  This way you won’t even realize that you’re adding more than a single bag of those smaller-packaged chips.  Don’t think about it.  Just do it.

Now, in all honesty, I prefer milk chocolate chips.  You’d think they’re too sweet, but they’re sooo good.  I have even made some converts out of semi-sweet chip users.  Unfortunately, I cannot find ginormous bags of milk chocolate chips.  I’m thinking we start a petition.  How many signatures would Costco want to see before making adding it to their Kirkland brand?

DSC_2858

If you’re just going to make regular chocolate chips cookies you’d be done here.  Just take an ice cream scoop to make dough balls and bake at 350 degrees for about 12-13 minutes.  I bake them until they’re just almost golden.  Once they cool, they turn golden but are still a bit gooey inside.  This is personal taste, but I like me a gooey cookie.

Oh, and did I say “ice cream scoop”?  Not a little melon baller?  For real.  Ice cream scoop.  My mom taught me this trick.  Any cookie will taste better if made with a giant ice cream scoop.

If, on the other hand you’re venturing into the Nutella Cookie territory, follow me:

Shape half the dough into regular-sized cookie dough balls and flatten.  Place each one on your cookie sheet.

Don’t go too, too big with these, because you will be putting another cookie on top of these.  Thus making a GIANT COOKIE.  Or a small pizookie.

DSC_2863

Notice the Jif Chocolate Hazelnut spread waiting in the wings?  Why not Nutella?  Well it was on sale one time at Target.  It’s good and works just as well.  And did I mention it was on sale?

Take a dollop of Nutella and place on each cookie.

Don't be shy...

Don’t be shy…

Spread the dollop on the cookie.  

Make sure not to spread too close to the edge of the cookie.  If the spread ends up “outside” the cookie, it won’t bake well, but will burn.  If it all stays inside the cookie, it will just be fabulous.

Now take the other half of the dough and shape into dough balls and flatten.  Place these on top of the Nutella cookies.

Make sure the Nutella is completely inside the cookie (for the aforementioned reason of burning).  I kind of “pinched” the ends together to keep it all in.  You will now have GIANT COOKIES.

DSC_2872

Yup, I only fit 9 cookies on this sheet. That’s how big they were. Notice the Nutella pouring over the edges?  This was how I discovered the part that isn’t fully contained will burn.  Don’t be like me.

Bake for about 13-14 minutes (more or less depending on your oven.)  

Once again, I prefer to take them out just before they’re golden.

DSC_2876

Sprinkle lightly with a coarse salt and press into the cookie. 

I used a Kosher salt because I had it on hand, but I’m sure a sea salt would do the trick and maybe even better.  I meant to sprinkle on the salt ahead of baking but forgot.  I did it after the cookies came out and had fabulous results.  I just sprinkled on a few grains per cookie and pressed it in. But a little goes a long way, so be stingy.  I then made some more cookies with which I put the salt on BEFORE baking and it wasn’t nearly as tasty.  If putting the salt on after, it will bring out the sweet taste in an amazing way.  As Caroline said “The salt MAKES the cookie.”

Totally NOT planned.  I placed them on a low table and Mr. Greedy got excited.

Totally NOT planned. I placed them on a low table and Mr. Greedy got excited.

Don't worry, he got to enjoy the cookies too.

Don’t worry, he got to enjoy the cookies too.

Let me know if you try these/have tried a similar recipe and have any suggestions!

Enjoy!

Print-friendly version of chocolate chip cookies:

Extra Yummy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Print-friendly version of Nutella cookies:

(Nutella) Surprise! Cookies

One thought on “(Nutella) Suprise! Cookies

Leave a Reply

