Chalkboard Paint (on jars)

We have used quite a bit of chalkboard paint for various walls at church.  My husband has a chalkboard wall above his desk, there’s one in our upper youth room and now there’s one in our lower youth room (for the main purpose of displaying menu options).  We then started using it to label some of the jars in our new youth group coffee shop.  It’s so darn handy to label, wipe off and relabel as needed.  After doing it for some jars in the youth room, I decided it would be a good idea to try it at home.  Not so much that I needed to know what was inside, but it just made the jars so cute!   It’s a really easy way to add some character to your kitchen.

The reason I entitled this post Chalkboard Paint (on jars) is because I have more ideas for chalkboard paint to share…expect some soon if my thrifting goes well!

Materials:

IKEA kitchen jars (that I was already using in my kitchen)

Chalkboard paint (a little goes a LOOOOONG way)

5/8 painting brush

notecard

tape

Procedure:

So first, I measured across the front of the jar to get an idea how long I wanted my chalkboard oval to be.  I decided on 4″.  I then went into Photoshop to create a 4″ oval, which I printed out on some paper. (I’m sure the same task could be accomplished in Word.  Doesn’t Word have shapes?)

DSC_2985

I took the paper, cut out the oval and placed it on the jar to check that it was the size I wanted.  Looked like a good fit to me!

DSC_2987

Next, I put the oval on a notecard and traced.  Any card stock or higher weight paper would be fine, I just happen to have notecards handy and it worked out to be a perfect size.

DSC_2988

I cut out the oval with an X-acto knife.  You could also just cut with a regular scissors and tape the cut you make into the center.  The oval doesn’t serve so much as a stencil as it does a guide.  As a stencil, it would be a huge disaster on the curved surface, so I don’t recommend it.

DSC_2990

I then taped the oval guide onto my first jar a bit above the midway point of the jar

DSC_2997

Using my 5/8 size paint brush, I painted on a thin layer of the chalkboard paint on the jar.  I then set the jar right-side-up (the thin layer won’t drip).  The first layer will not be fully opaque.  You will definitely notice streaks of glass peeking through the chalkboard paint.  Don’t worry, we will be doing more layers to get a nice surface!

DSC_3003

Next, I carefully removed the oval guide to move on to my next jar.

DSC_2999

I taped the oval on my next jar and compared the jars side-by-side (almost face-to-face) to make sure that the heights of the ovals would match, since they’re sitting on the counter next to one another!

DSC_3001

After I was done with all my jars, the first jar was dry enough to do another coat.  It doesn’t have to be 100% dry, but I gave it 10-15 minutes between coats.  You’ll see that it’s fairly dry because it will turn from a glossy, wet paint into a matte finish.

When you start adding coats, there is no need to place the oval guide back on, just go over the original oval.  The first coat is the trickiest and adding on additional coats is like coloring in the lines.  If that’s an issue for you, you might need some practice before attempting this project.

I did a total of three coats on each jar and it turned out perfectly.  I even did some on plastic jars (not pictured) and the paint stuck just as well as on the glass.  Seriously, you’ll want to start chalkboard-painting everything in your life.

Here’s how they turned out.  As I said, I didn’t so much need them to help me decipher what was in the jars, but they add something fun to just a plain piece of glass.  Plus, it was super fast, easy and used barely any paint.

DSC_3333

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Chalkboard Paint (on jars)

  1. Love it Amy! I tried to do something similar with some homemade bottles of Limoncello I gave as gifts, but I was totally stupid and dishwashed them…chalkboard paint is NOT dishwasher safe! I heard etching works okay in the dishwasher, have you heard the same or tried it??

    • Oh no! Definitely not dishwasher safe, although I’m not sure I would have ever thought too hard about it. I always hand wash my large containers anyway but that’s a good tip in case I did it on something smaller! I haven’t etched. I’ll have to look up how to do it. I guess I didn’t realize etching was something you could easily DIY!

Leave a Reply

