Chicken Stroganoff

This is a recipe that my mother-in-law gave to my husband before we were betrothed.  Before we even started dating, we were friends and would get together on Wednesday nights for dinner and to watch his friend play in a band at a local venue.  Now for dinner, we wouldn’t just go out, he would cook for me.  Maybe I should have realized at this point that we had a future because what 19 year-old boy cooks for a girl every week?  None that I know of.

This may have been the first meal he made for me and it has been a staple around these parts ever since.  I’m often the one to make it now (although this is a recent phenomenon because he was the sole chef in our household until I started my homemaking venture about a year and a half ago, after our son was born.)  I love this one because it’s super fast, super easy, tastes great and uses ingredients we usually have on hand.

I hope you find this one as helpful as I have.  It’s perfect for those busy evenings or evenings where you just don’t want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen.

Here we go:

Prepare the egg noodles according to packaging.

I like to make this meal over egg noodles, but you could really use whatever noodles suit your fancy.

Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a medium to large skillet.  Add 2 cut up, boneless, skinless chicken breasts and cook until no longer pink.  Season with salt and pepper.

DSC_3356

Add 1 cup chicken broth and 1/2 cup white wine.  Heat through.

Okay, so the wine is optional but why in the world wouldn’t you cook with wine if you could?  I think it adds a lot of flavor, especially to this particular recipe, so I would be very hesitant to leave it out.  Also, the amount of liquid is up to you.  The original calls for 1 cup total liquids but I like my stroganoff to be extra saucy so I add more.  I also just like to have more food on my plate and having extra sauce warrants extra noodles so there ya go.

It'll look very liquidy but don't worry.  We'll fix that up right quick.

It’ll look very liquidy but don’t worry. We’ll fix that up right quick.

Combine 2/3 cup sour cream and  2 tablespoons flour in a separate bowl and add to the pan.  Thoroughly combine all ingredients and heat just until boiling. 

This is what gives us a nice, creamy, thick sauce.  If your sauce isn’t as thick as you’d like it, just add some more flour.  But be careful if you do; a little goes a long way, so I would recommend only adding extra teaspoons at a time.

DSC_3364

The blob of sour cream

The blob of sour cream

All mixed together!

All mixed together!

Serve over the cooked noodles.

For real; we’re done.  If you have an easier recipe than that, tell me, because I can’t think of one but would love to have more like this in my arsenal.

DSC_3378 - Version 2

Enjoy!

Below is a printer-friendly version:

Chicken Stroganoff

One thought on “Chicken Stroganoff

Leave a Reply

