Monster Cookies

Our lower youth room has officially been converted into a real, functioning coffee shop (pictures to come; it’s so close to being 100% done but there are just a couple odds and ends to complete.)  This coffee shop has served to be a great fundraiser for our youth group even in just the few days it has been open.

One of the things we sell at the shop, besides awesome espresso drinks, are treats.  I am already starting to realize that I’ll be baking a couple times a week to accommodate this part of the shop, so if I were you, I would expect quite a few posts about sweets.  I really hope you don’t mind.

I promised myself that my next ‘sweets’ post wouldn’t be about cookies.  I already did that and I needed to do something fresh. I ended up making some cookies for the coffee shop and took pictures “just in case”.  Good thing I did.  I can’t NOT share this recipe with you.  It has quickly turned into a favorite of mine and I have made them twice in one week.  Plus, I truly believe you can never have too many cookie recipes in your arsenal.  My dream is to one day be the mom that all the kids say “she bakes the best cookies!”  Yes, I did say dream; one can dream!

As I was trying to figure out what kind of cookie I wanted to make for the shop, I knew it had to be a cookie that still tasted great after it cooled.  Every cookie tastes amazing fresh out of the oven, but few taste just as good once they have cooled.  I find peanut butter cookies to be an example of this; in fact, I like them to cool quite a bit before I even taste one.

When trying to think up this cookie I needed to make, my mind harkened back to the days of growing up and I remembered a ceratain type of cookie that my grandma would make that always tasted good: Monster Cookies.  I feared this was just a made up name she gave them but after a quick type into google, I realized it’s definitely a monicker for a specific sort of cookie.

Now, not to toot my own horn but it was a pretty big success.  One girl bought three of them and my husband heard a few kids exclaim “this is the best cookie ever.”  Dream: accomplished.

This recipe has been adapted from the Food Network.

Here we go:

Preheat the oven to 350º. 

 In a large mixing bowl, combine three eggs, 1 cup granulated sugar and 1 1/4 cup brown sugar. 

DSC_3311

Add 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 12 ounces (1 1/2 cups) peanut butter and 1/2 cup butter.  

I’m not sure if you own one of these contraptions pictured below, but if you don’t, let me recommend it.  It’s called an adjust-a-cup and it’s amazing when working with sticky substances like peanut butter.  You just expand it to the desired measurement (it has all sorts of measurements like ounces and cups, etc) fill it up with the nuisance-of-a-substance and pop it out so there’s no need to scrape it out of a measuring cup!  In fact, ours just broke (after getting it for our wedding 8+ years ago) and we ordered a new one ASAP because it’s such a handy tool!

DSC_3312

Next, mix in 2 teaspoons baking soda and 4 1/2 cups oatmeal. 

Oh my word, I kid you not, 4 1/2 cups of oatmeal.  When I was making this recipe, I didn’t look through all the ingredients right away and I started wondering where the flour came in.  Nope, no flour.  Just a ton of oatmeal in its place.  I’m wondering if it’s the lack of flour (and the ridiculous amounts of peanut buttery/butter substances) that makes this recipe taste so good when cool.  I’m not sure, but I think it just stays super moist, thus making it a pleasure to consume at all temperatures.

Seriously, just go ahead and buy the biggest oatmeal container you can find.  You might be making these a bit.

Seriously, just go ahead and buy the biggest oatmeal container you can find. You might be making these a bit.

After these ingredients are thoroughly combined, add 1 cup chocolate chips and 1 cup M&Ms and mix on low until they’re stirred throughout.

You could really do 2 total cups of any sort of chips.  Maybe you’re super into M&Ms, you could do ALL M&Ms and no chocolate chips, etc.  I like to do an even division of the chips, but it’s your call.

Once again, this is some tempting dough to eat.

Once again, this is some tempting dough to eat.

Use an ice cream scoop; form into dough balls and place no more than 9 on a standard-sized baking sheet.

(If you saw my Nutella cookies post, you know my theory about using an ice cream scoop instead of a tiny melon baller.)

DSC_3326

Bake for 12-14 minutes or until the peaks on top become just a bit golden.  Let cool for 10-15 minutes. 

These cookies are kind of tricky to tell when they’re done but I think they have a bigger window of baking error than regular chocolate chip cookies do.  I found that they were perfectly done when the little parts on the top that stuck out a bit were golden.  These cookies are naturally darker so watching them get a little golden all-around is tough.  And it’s not until they fully cool can you tell if they’re perfect, but like I said, I think these aren’t quite as easy to over-bake as your standard cookie.

Done and ready to sell!

Done and ready to sell!

Enjoy!

Below is a printer-friendly version:

Monster Cookies

One thought on “Monster Cookies

Leave a Reply

