Memory Keeping {Valentine Cards}

Part of being a homemaker entails being a memory keeper, at least that’s what I have found around my house.  This can take up a lot of my time: from the photo taking, to the editing, to the backing up, to the printing, to the storing, to the documenting, etc.  But it’s worth it and I am reminded how much it can truly mean for posterity whenever we run across a picture or a card from our parents’ or grandparents’ youth.  How wonderful for our kids to be able to look back on pictures of them WITH their parents when they were babies, or of their grandparents spending time with them on vacations or holidays.  And even though our son is only 19 months, looking at pictures of him as a tiny baby brings me joy already!

This is why I have decided to start a series entitled “Memory Keeping” because all-too-quickly each moment of our lives becomes simply a memory and so many memories are worth preserving.  In the digital age, we are fortunate to have numerous outlets for this.  I mean, how many of us have a camera with us at all times; literally, and without even thinking about it, many of us can whip out our phones and document the moment.  Photography has been a hobby of mine for a long time and even in high school I would carry around my point-and-shoot film camera wherever I went.  You just never know when a photo op will strike!

This post will focus on Valentine’s Day because it’s right around the corner and gives us an excuse to not only document what our lives are like now, but we can share it with others.

Last year right before Valentine’s Day, I found out about the FREE phone app Red Stamp (which you can also access here and work from your computer from what I gather.)  Here’s the gist of it: you can create e-cards of any type, with or without a photo and email them off to people.  You can also print postcards or save them to your camera roll, after which you could do pretty much anything with them.

vday

Last year I was inspired by this so much that I set out to recreate what they had done.  I had already taken Valentine’s Day pictures with my son early in February and I figured they were too cute not to share.  (I mean, c’mon, doesn’t he look like a little cupid?)  Note: this is a great shoot to do with a baby.  All I did was cut out and string a bunch of hearts and place him on a puffy, white blanket on our bed.  There’s no way he would sit still for me now, so coming up with a Valentine’s shoot for this year is a little tricky.  (Does anyone have ideas to share for toddler V-Day photos? )

Untitled-2

Being inspired by the app, I made something similar in Photoshop to send out to grandparents and great-grandparents. (I might think my kid’s cute, but I’m not delusional enough to think everyone on my Christmas card list would want one of these.)  When creating it in Photoshop, I just made sure my file size was some multiple of 4×6 so that I could print at my nearest Costco for pennies and mail out.  And of course, while you’re at it, keep a couple copies for yourself.  How often do you actually PRINT the photos that have been sitting on your camera or phone?

Valentine

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Memory Keeping {Valentine Cards}

  1. As always, I’m a big fan of your photography and your family is so blessed to have their life captured in such quality photos.

    One trick that may be helpful for photographing a toddler is to have a kid sized chair or stool for them to sit on. For some reason if I put a small stool out my toddler would take her mark and sit for a least one min. I’ve also given her a lollipop or blew bubbles which helps to distract from running away.

  2. I visited your blog by chance and happy I did. I love your toddler V-Day photo. It looks awesome. I am planning on taking a few shots of my 3 year old. If it comes out well I’ll post it 🙂

Leave a Reply

