Lemon Chicken Pasta

I realize I haven’t posted in a few days and trust me, there’s a good reason for that!  As I have mentioned before, Dave is a youth pastor and this weekend we took our junior high kids up to Hume Lake Christian Camp for a wonderful weekend of fellowship, playing in the snow and little sleep.  We were off the grid and from Friday until Sunday I had no internet or cell service.  It was kind of freeing!

That being said, tonight, after a long day including my 29th week of pregnancy fasting blood work (a horrible cruelty!), unpacking and settling back in, I didn’t want to make something requiring too much effort.  Heck, I didn’t want to cook anything for dinner at all, but we gotta eat.

Often when I ask my husband if he has any requests for dinner, he gives me the same response: “whatever”.  It drives me a little crazy but I’m pretty sure when he was the chef of the household I used that exact same response on a weekly basis.  But tonight was different.  He requested lemon chicken pasta.  This is a recipe that was made for us by a wonderful, incredibly hospitable woman in the church, Nona.  She is full of great recipes and I am planning on sharing some of the more involved ones at some point, but this one is easy.  E-A-S-Y!  It was the perfect meal to make after a retreat weekend.

Now, let me add that although this is called “Lemon Chicken Pasta”, it’s more like “Lemon Pasta with Chicken”.  And of course you could use bottled lemon juice, but fresh-squeezed lemon makes the dish taste so fresh that it’s worth the purchase.

Here we go:

Cook two cups of penne pasta according to the instructions on the box.

I usually go a little generous on the pasta portion and I cook about 2+, up to 2 1/2 cups.

Season two cubed chicken breasts with salt and pepper.  Using a pan or a stovetop grill, cook until the chicken is white on the inside and the juices run clear.

You can use a grill or any pan, really.

DSC_3652

In a sautée pan, heat up 3 tablespoons olive oil and add 3 cloves of chopped or minced garlic and 1/4 teaspoon pepper flakes.  Cook until fragrant. 

The lemons are for later!

The lemons are for later!  The garlic and pepper flakes are for now.

Turn the heat off and add the cooked pasta.  Mix until the pasta is coated with oil.

Add the chicken, juice from two lemons, cilantro, 1/2 cup parmesan and season with salt and pepper as desired.  Mix well and serve.

Nona actually topped with parsley instead of cilantro but I’m a huge cilantro fan.  I could eat it on practically anything and the first time I made it I happened to have some on hand (well, not “happened to”…I often am using cilantro, so it’s usually on hand.)  You use what you want, but let me tell you that cilantro might be the perfect choice.

DSC_3658

DSC_3663

Like I said, this one is super easy but on the rare occasions that David requests a dish, it’s often this one.  Can’t get much better than that; a simple dish that’s a crowd pleaser!

Enjoy!

Below is a printer-friendly version:

Lemon Chicken Pasta

Leave a Reply

