S’mores Bars

In the 7th grade, I had the obligatory middle school bestie.  Like most 7th grade besties, our friendship ended in terribly dramatic fashion but at least I got this great recipe out of the situation.  Her mom often made this one for us and luckily I was smart enough to ask for it before things turned south.

The first time my mom made it, it turned out terribly.  I informed her it was because she put the chocolate chips on top of the marshmallows but she asserted that there was no way it could taste that much better if we reversed it.  Being persistent, I begged her to try it again and of course, it turned out amazing.  We have been making it ever since.  But note: the marshmallows must go on the VERY TOP or else you too will be disappointed!

It’s too delicious and too easy to not pass along!

Here we go:

Crust:

Mix 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup brown sugar until fluffy.  In a separate bowl, mix 1 cup flour and 3 whole graham crackers that have been crushed to make crumbs.

Slowly add the flour/crumb mixture to the butter/sugar mixture.  Spread the crust into an 8×8 baking pan.

My pictures show a 9×12 pan, for which I doubled the recipe.   The recipe I’m giving you calls for an 8×8.

DSC_3681

Remember, the recipe I'm giving you fits in an 8x8.  To fit in a larger pan, just double it.

Remember, the recipe I’m giving you fits in an 8×8. To fit in a larger pan, just double it.

Sprinkle on 6 ounces of chocolate chips and then top with 2 cups of marshmallows. 

Adjust-a-cup to the rescue, yet again!

Adjust-a-cup to the rescue, yet again!

DSC_3693 DSC_3695

Bake at 375º for 15-20 minutes, or until the marshmallows are golden brown.

I like the marshmallows to be pretty darn golden.  It’s how I eat regular s’mores, too.  I’m not big on regular marshmallows but making them crisp and golden makes me very happy.  In fact, I will often bake the entire dish at 390 or 400 degrees. If after 20-30 minutes of baking the top still isn’t golden, I’ll broil the dish until they are (which usually only takes a couple of minutes.)

DSC_3696 DSC_3704

These can be tricky to cut through because they’re so gooey, so I use a really sharp knife.  Trust me, people, a butter knife isn’t going to work.  (I was going to say “isn’t going to cut it” but I thought that pun was just too much.)

Enjoy!

Below is a printer-friendly version:

S’mores Bars

3 thoughts on “S’mores Bars

Leave a Reply

