Baked Sour Cream Donuts

One of the hardest parts about moving around the country is finding and subsequently giving up a new “favorite food”.  Whenever I’m back in Minnesota, I have a list of places I HAVE to go  in order to make my visit complete.  Multiple trips to Caribou Coffee, Punch pizza, and Noodles and Co. are always in order.  And although that’s good and well since I get back to Minnesota a couple times a year, since I have moved from Jersey to CA (3 and a half years ago), I have yet to be back and the thoughts of my favorite foods enter my mind, never to be satisfied.  I think especially of Rita’s Italian Ice, pizza-by-the-slice places with those delicious garlic knots, and Dunkin’ Donuts.

It’s hard to explain how much New Jersey loves their Dunkin’ Donuts.  It might even be more ubiquitous than Starbucks!  And I’ll tell you, I fell in love.  For a coffee-lover, it was heaven.   There comes a time each spring when I start craving their iced coffees and for whatever reason, they seem to do it better than any other coffee shop I’ve ever been to.  And in the winter, their white hot chocolates kept me warm on more than a few occasions.  I have especially fond memories of their donut holes; you never knew when you’d show up to work and be surprised by a generous colleague who decided to get a whole box of them. I even had some students who worked there bring them in from time to time.  I became addicted and frankly, spoiled.  When Dave and I would make a trip to DD down the block, I would often get just a single donut and that would more often than not be a sour cream donut.  I have no clue why I decided to get one in the first place, I am a chocolate girl through and through, but somehow I just knew I had to have one and the rest is history.  Ever sine we moved, I have craved them. I finally looked up a recipe and although it’s not an exact copy (these are baked after all), it still sated my craving.

Thanks to Java Cupcake’s blog for the recipe; mine was adapted from this one.  I halved the recipe that I’m giving to you and I had more dough than I needed for the 6 spaces in my pan.  If you used the full recipe, you could definitely get over a dozen donuts.

Preheat the oven to 425º  Spray or grease donut pan.

Mix together 1/2 cup of room temperature butter, 1/2 cup granulated sugar, 1/3 cup packed brown sugar, 2 eggs and 1 teaspoon vanilla on low for 30 seconds, stop and scrape bowl and continue mixing on medium for approximately 3 ½ more minutes or until creamy.

DSC_4055

Add 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg and 3/4 teaspoon salt. 

DSC_4057

I love recipes that call for ingredients I have on hand anyway.

With the mixer on low, add half of the flour (1 1/3 cup) and mix just until combined.

DSC_4064

Add 1 cup sour cream and the remaining flour (1 1/3 cup).  Mix until just combined.

Add 1/3 cup milk and mix on medium for about 15 seconds or just until the milk is just mixed in.  The dough should be a bit shiny.

Fill the donut cups until almost full, leaving  just a slight space at the top.  You can do this using a pastry bag or a spoon. 

Obviously a pastry bag is ideal but I don’t have one, so I just put a dollop in each hole and spread it around.  It worked just fine; just make sure to clear the donut hole of any batter, unless you want a closed donut!

DSC_4068

Bake for about 12 minutes or until the donuts are lightly golden on top.  Rotate the pan about halfway through the baking process.  Note: the donuts will be darker on bottom so don’t let the top get too brown.

I should have baked mine for about 1-2 minutes more.  They were just a tad undercooked.

I should have baked mine for about 1-2 minutes more. They were just a tad undercooked.

Let cool for five minutes, remove, and place on a cooling rack for a few more minutes before glazing. 

To prepare the glaze, mix 1 cup powdered sugar and 1 1/2 tablespoons milk in a bowl with a whisk.  Add more milk as necessary but keep the glaze rather thick.  (A little milk goes a long way!)

Dunk the donuts in the glaze and enjoy!

DSC_4086

I glazed the bottom of the donuts, which you can see is far more cooked than the tops. I still think 1-2 minutes would have cooked the tops better without burning the bottoms.

Here’s a printer-friendly version:

Baked Sour Cream Donuts

5 thoughts on “Baked Sour Cream Donuts

  1. These look amazing! And you are not alone with missing the East Coast treats. I often find myself craving Rita’s or a fabulous dinner at the Witherspoon Grill.

Leave a Reply

