Steak Piperade and Roasted Carrots

You may have assumed that I have only been making sweet treats for meals around here lately since pretty much all my recipes as of late have been of the sugary-variety, but you’d be wrong.  I actually have been cooking real meals and some of them I’ve even taken pictures of!  I just haven’t gotten around to posting them.

That being said, here’s an actual meal.  This is also an extremely easy one to make.  I modified this recipe from Williams-Sonoma Simple Suppers; it’s part of the Food Made Fast series and I cannot say enough good things about these books.  I borrowed my friend’s “Vegetarian” version of this and was so impressed that I quickly bought the Asian and Simple Suppers additions.  They’re full of recipes that can be made in under an hour and some of our favorite meals come from these guys.  My only complaint is that there aren’t enough books in the series!  I could stock my shelf full of these volumes.

This particular recipe has been modified to kick the flavor and heat level up just a tad but it’s still not very spicy.  If you want to make it spicy, I would simply add more red pepper flakes.  I have also included the side I made with it, which was roasted carrots.  It’s hard to go wrong with roasted veggies!

In a skillet on high heat, add 1 tablespoon of butter and olive oil.  Season 1 lb skirt or flank steak with salt and pepper and cook the uncut steak in the skillet for 2-3 minutes on each side, or until cooked to your liking.

DSC_4090

The steak I used was so thin that it only needed a little over a minute on each side.

Transfer the meat to a cutting board and tent with foil to keep warm.

Place another tablespoon of butter and oil in the skillet.  On medium heat, cook 1/2 a purple onion, 2 red or yellow peppers, 3-4 garlic cloves, 1/2 tablespoon dried thyme and a dash of pepper flakes until the onion and pepper have softened a bit, around 3-4 minutes. 

DSC_4093

Because of Dave’s onion aversion, I usually leave them out and the dish is still great. But if you’re an onion-lover like me, you’ll take any chance to add some onion.

Add 1/2 cup dry white wine, bring to a boil, and keep boiling for about 30 seconds.  Stir in a 14 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes and simmer until the liquid is slightly reduced, about 4-5 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper.

DSC_4096

Slice the meat thinly across the grain and place on plates.  Top with the vegetable mixture.

DSC_4103

For the roasted carrots:

Preheat the oven to 400º.

Peel 6  carrots and slice them into 2 inch slices.  (At the thicker end of the carrot, you may want to cut slices in half)

 In a bowl, mix carrots, 1 1/2 tablespoons oil, 3/4 teaspoon Kosher salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper and 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano.

Place on a baking pan and bake for 20 minutes.

That’s it; so easy.

Enjoy!

Here are printer-friendly versions:

Roasted Carrots

Steak Piperade

Leave a Reply

